Sunday, September 9, 2018

Types of Cheese Making Rennet You Should Know

 Different Types of Rennet


This is a sponsored post.







If you are a newbie in cheese making or you are just looking to perfect your knowledge about rennet, you are in the right place. This ingredient plays an integral role in the recipe of experienced cheese makers for a reason. It helps to turn the milk into a thick curd through the process called coagulation. Let’s take a look at different types of rennet available on the market.

 Different Types of Rennet
100% Chymosin dry rennet powder

Liquid Rennet
For most people, this is the top choice of rennet for making cheese. The crucial advantage is that it is incredibly easy to work with since you can measure the dosage you need accurately. When it comes to the downside, keep in mind that they have a relatively short shelf life.

Powdered and Tablet Rennet
The choice between the two largely depends on your preference since they are quite similar. As the name suggests, tablet rennet comes in the form of pills, which can make it a bit hard to determine the accurate dosage the recipe requires. However, the advantage of tablets and powders is that they have an extended shelf life compared to liquid rennet. They are also more resistant to warmer climates.


Calf Rennet
We are mentioning this rennet separately as it is an excellent choice for cheese that is longer-aged. Due to some compounds of the calf rennet, it stimulates the protein breakdown. However, keep in mind that if the cheese is more than six months old, it may get a somewhat bitter taste. Animal rennet often contains 90% pure rennin (chymosin), which is a protease utilized in the process of coagulating milk.

Animal or Vegetable Rennet?
This is also quite self-explanatory. Aside from calf, goat and lamb can be sources of animal-derived rennet. Unlike that, Mucur Miehei, which is a type of mold, is the source of vegetable rennet. It is vital to mention that mold is only the source and the final product is completely free of it. The performance is similar to animal rennet, except in the area of curd/whey separation, but even the difference here is minimal. The crucial advantage of this type of rennet is that it is vegetarian-friendly.








Foodamn Philippines [www.foodamn.com], created by Green Dei (Daryll Villena)
If you guys have tips on exotic food and recipes, write us at foodamnphilippines(at)gmail(dot)com


If you find this post helpful, informative or entertaining, feel free to SHARE it.
Follow https://twitter.com/GreenDei
Facebook Page:  Foodamn Philippines
IG https://instagram.com/foodamnphilippines
YouTube https://www.youtube.com/user/DeiVille


I’d love to know what you think about this post. Feel free to leave your comment.
I do reply to each of your messages or questions so please come back if you’ve left one.


Disclosure:
Foodamn Philipppines receives products in order to conduct reviews. No monetary compensation was provided unless noted otherwise. All opinions are 100% my own and/or partially based on Press Kits. Some posts may contain web links in exchange for payment. In the event of a giveaway, the sponsor is responsible for delivery of the prize, unless otherwise noted in the posting. I only recommend, discuss, or introduce products/services/businesses I personally use and believe will be a good fit for my readers.


No comments:

Post a Comment

[ eat me. drink me. share me. ]

Please read our complete comment policy.

We will not post comments that:
1. Promote services or products (non-commercial links that are relevant to the blog post or comment are acceptable)
2. Are simply links to other sites, blogs, editorials, etc.
3. Contain vulgar language, personal attacks of any kind, or are offensive
4. Make unsupported accusations
5. Are far off-topic